Hingham is rich in open space, and not by accident. Town sentiment has long favored conservation. Civic leaders have been farsighted in their planning and public-spirited citizens have been generous in gifts and sale of land for public use. Building on the early efforts of the Hingham Friends of Conservation, the Hingham Land Conservation Trust works to acquire, preserve and maintain exceptional properties in Hingham. We are grateful for the generous support that makes this work possible.
HLCT Properties – A Legacy Of Generous Devotion To The Land
A 13 acre respite of woodland and marshy paths just off Cushing Street in South Hingham. Gift of Suvia Whittemore (1983)
Suvia Whittemore and her husband Arthur bought a farmhouse with 1 ¾ acres of land on Gardner Street in 1924. After living there for 67 years, they had acquired 30 acres stretching to Cushing Street. Suvia served as HLCT’s first President and in 1983 she gave 13 acres to HLCT in memory of her husband, Judge Arthur E. Whittemore, Hingham’s Town Moderator for many years. At the dedication of the property in 1994 she set a brisk pace as members followed her on the trails of Whortleberry Hollow.
Pictured: Suvia Whittemore at the Dedication of Whortleberry Hollow May, 1994
Open fields, stone walls and pine woods on gentle hills remind us of Hingham’s agricultural and pastoral heritage in historic Glad Tidings Plain. Gift of Helen Burns (1976, 1979, 1986)Helen Burns moved into an antique Cape Cod cottage on Main Street in Hingham in 1939. Behind her house stretched the fields, pasture and woods of Glad Tidings Plain between Main Street and Fulling Mill Brook. Over the years, always mindful of Hingham’s future need for open lands, she purchased 38 acres of land and gave them to the Hingham Conservation Commission and the Hingham Land Conservation Trust.
Pictured: Helen Burns at the Dedication of Jacobs Meadow, 1991
Eel River Woods “Live in Each Season as it Passes” Gift of Mary Niles
Mary Niles stated that she wished her gift of the 12 acre Eel River Woods to remain a “woods,” not just “a stand of trees.” Thus, the foot paths are laid out in such a natural style that visitors can be immersed for a time in a micro-wilderness between Cushing Street and the junction of Eel and Plymouth Rivers. A dedicated conservationist and philanthropist, Mary Niles was the widow of one of HLCT’s founding trustees. Her gifts of land and annual support helped sustain HLCT for many years. In the last years of her life she gave HLCT a conservation restriction on 8 ½ acres surrounding her house on Cushing Street which will preserve the wooded streetscape and the shore of Cushing Pond.
Pictured: Mary Niles, 1994